Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

RWJF-AIDS United Award for Health Equity

Award to a USA Individual or Team for an Exceptional
Program that Addresses Health Inequities

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

AIDS United and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF)

Deadline Date:

08/09/19 11:59 PM EST


Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA individual or team of individuals to recognize the successful implementation of a program that utilizes systems change to address health inequities. Eligible programs should address one of the following areas: education, income, access to quality care, employment, housing, community environment, and public safety.

The RWJF-AIDS United Award for Health Equity recognizes individuals or teams of no more than two individuals, who have successfully implemented a systems-change approach to reduce health inequities within the past two years. The recipient of this annual award will receive a $3,000 prize and will be honored at the RWJF Annual Recognition Event in Princeton, New Jersey in December 2019.

Eligible nomination applications will be reviewed according to the following criteria:

- Nominee’s work shows alignment with Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s vision for building a Culture of Health and achieving health equity
- Nominee’s work demonstrated success in changing systems that impact health outcomes in one or more of the following areas: social, racial or gender justice; access to quality care; education; employment; income; community environment; housing; and public safety
- Nominee’s work provided a solution to improve outcomes for groups most affected by health disparities
- Nominee successfully implemented a systems-change approach to reduce health disparities within the past two years
- Nominee’s work addresses HIV-related inequities in their communities

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 186295

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Number of Grants:

A maximum of one (1) Nominee (individual or team) may be selected as the winner.

Estimated Size of Grant:


Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The RWJF-AIDS United Award is open only to individuals and teams of no more than two individuals, who meet all of the following eligibility criteria: are (a) citizens or legal residents of the United States, (b) thirteen (13) years of age or older, (c) not a trustee, director, officer, shareholder, employee, contractor, agent, representative, or affiliate of RWJF, Sponsor, selection committee or the spouse/domestic partner, parent, sibling, child, or grandchild of any of the foregoing, (d) have not previously received any RWJF Award for Health Equity from any sponsor organization in any year.

Pre-Application Information:

Important Dates/Deadlines:

- Nomination period opens: Monday, June 17, 2019
- Nomination period closes Friday, August 9, 2019 at 11:59 PM EST
- Nominees notified of decision: By September 13, 2019
- RWJF Annual Recognition Event: December 2019

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online nomination form:

Any additional questions related to the RWJF-AIDS United Award should be directed to Valerie Rochester, Vice President for Program Strategy, at, or 202-876-2849.

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming