Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

The Ginetta Sagan Award

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Woman for Outstanding
Achievement and Ongoing Work in the Area of Human Rights

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Amnesty International

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award of $20,000 to a USA, Canada, or International woman to acknowledge exceptional achievement in the area of human rights and to allow the recipient to continue her efforts. Funding is intended to recognize the recipient's accomplishments, which are often achieved at great personal risk, and to enhance her ability to live and work freely by bringing a new level of international attention to her accomplishments and the obstacles she faces. The grant also brings international attention to the crisis, region, or issue for which the recipient works.

The Ginetta Sagan Award recognizes and assists women who are working to protect the liberty and lives of women and children in areas where human rights violations are widespread. The annual award grant is given in recognition of individual accomplishment but also in the belief that it will serve as a beacon of hope to women everywhere who are fighting for human rights. The Award is intended to help women throughout the world in their struggle to overcome oppression and to let them know that they are not alone.

The award can be used by the awardee at her complete discretion. In addition to the award, the awardee can receive up to $5,000 to further her professional development. This can include covering her expenses to participate in, and/or attend training throughout 2020.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 163525

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

$20,000. In addition, the awardee can receive up to $5,000 for professional development.

Term of Contract:

The additional $5,000 award can be used throughout 2020.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

- Founder and/or Executive Director of an organization.
- Under threat for her activism.
- Proven effective at addressing human rights issues.
- Has brought about significant change in her country, region, or issue through her work.

The money is awarded to the individual, not the organization.

A political party leader or government official / employee is not eligible for the Ginetta Sagan Fund award.

Pre-Application Information:

Nominations for 2019 awardees are now open and are due September 2, 2019.

Two letters of recommendation should accompany the application.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

For questions about the Ginetta Sagan Fund or Award, and to submit letters of recommendation, please email

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.